West Indies reveal white-ball squads for Australia tour

West indies reveal white-ball squads for australia tour0

For their three ODIs and three Twenty20 Internationals against Australia from February 2–13, the West Indies have selected 15-man teams.

Teddy Bishop, a 2022 U19 World Cup graduate, and Tevin Imlach, a wicketkeeper-batter, were two possible debutants in the ODI team.

After an impressive performance in the West Indies 50-over tournament, Bishop was called up, and Imlach will stay in Australia after the Test series. Justin Greaves, who also averaged an 80 in the Super 50, makes his injury comeback in this series. Kavem Hodge and Hayden Walsh Jr. are also back. Yannic Carriah and Shimron Hetmyer were included, however Brandon King and Sherfane Rutherford were not available for selection.

West Indies have been playing well lately; in December, they won the home T20I and ODI series against England.

Building on their momentum and getting ready for a home stand at the T20 World Cup in June, lead selector and former international Desmond Haynes has encouraged the team to stay in Australia.

“On the back of a series win against England, we are expecting our ODI team to be very competitive in Australia,” Haynes said.

“We believe that a few returning players and a few new additions who have shown promise over a long time will make an effect. This is a vital component of our T20I series preparations for the next T20 World Cup, which we will be hosting.

“We are hoping to build on strong overall performances against India and England and to keep improving as we approach the major tournament.”

The countries play two Test matches as part of the World Test Championship starting on January 17 before the two white ball series.

The following players are in the ODI squad: Matthew Forde, Justin Greaves, Alzarri Joseph, Alick Athanaze, Teddy Bishop, Keacy Carty, Roston Chase, Kavem Hodge, Tevin Imlach, Gudakesh Motie, Kjorn Ottley, Romario Shepherd, Oshane Thomas, and Hayden Walsh Jr.

T20I squad: Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Oshane Thomas, Jason Holder, Jason King, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, & Gudakesh Motie

West Indies vs. Australia ODI Series

First ODI: Melbourne, February 2,
Second ODI: Sydney, February 4
Third ODI: Canberra, February 6

T20I Series Australia vs. West Indies

First T20I: February 9 in Hobart.
Second T20I: Adelaide, February 11
Third T20I: Perth, February 13

more insights