Unbeaten Balbirnie stars as Ireland win Zimbabwe ODI series

Unbeaten balbirnie stars as ireland win zimbabwe odi series0

Ireland won the one-day international series 2-0 on Sunday in Harare with to an undefeated 82-run innings from Andy Balbirnie.

Rain forced the match to be trimmed to 40 overs each side, and the tourists lost skipper Paul Stirling with just 12 runs scored. They needed 201 runs to win.

However, Balbirnie overcame his recent lackluster performance to form partnerships of 70 with Harry Tector (33), and 40 with Curtis Campher (40), taking the match away from the hosts.

Balbirnie steadily extended his innings, hitting four fours and a six off of 102 balls.

“I believe you will have some luck if you wait patiently. The right-hand hitter stated, “Sometimes things go your way, sometimes they don’t.

“Being out there at the finish on a difficult wicket felt nice. I was confident that I could succeed if I prepared myself for the finish.”

Ireland reached 204-3 at Harare Sports Club when wicketkeeper Lorcan Tucker hit a four to set up the game-winning runs with 13 balls remaining.

With the help of Joylord Gumbie (72) and the returning Sikandar Raza (37), Zimbabwe amassed 197, while the Irish were bowled out by Graham Hume and Campher, both taking four wickets.

Josh Little, the six-wicket standout of Ireland’s victory on Friday, was out due to a nagging ailment.

Ireland had won the previous three Twenty20 series, and Stirling’s captaincy got off to a great start with the tour. Rain forced the cancellation of the first ODI.

“I believe we saved our best effort for the final game. I’m overjoyed for the boys. The skipper remarked, “We worked hard lately, so it felt fantastic to be rewarded.

Ireland had never won a series until they arrived in the nation in southern Africa, but they did so twice in a span of eight days.

Quick scores

Ireland 204-3 in 37.5 overs (A. Balbirnie 82 not out, Campher 40, H. Tector 33, L. Tucker 29 not out) vs Zimbabwe 197 in 40 overs (J. Gumbie 72, S. Raza 37, W. Masakadza 24; G. Hume 4-34, C. Campher 4-37)

Using the DLS technique, Ireland won by seven wickets.

more insights