UAE thrash New Zealand to win second T20I

Uae thrash new zealand to win second t20i0

On Saturday in Dubai, United Arab Emirates captain Muhammad Waseem scored 55 runs to help his team defeat New Zealand by seven wickets and tie the three-match T20 series.

The UAE lost opener Aryansh Sharma without scoring before Waseem and Vriitya Aravind (25) stabilized the innings, needing 143 to win after once more opting to bowl first.

Waseem’s 29-ball innings, which concluded when he skied left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner to extra cover, featured four fours and three sixes.

Asif Khan completed the task with an undefeated 48 and whacked Tim Southee of New Zealand for three boundaries in the 16th over to secure a historic victory with 26 balls remaining.

The most notable contribution to New Zealand’s 142-8 was made by Mark Chapman with 63.

The only other batters for the visitors to reach double figures were Chad Bowes, the opener, and Jimmy Neesham, who both scored 21.

The left-arm spinner Aayan Afzal Khan tore through the top order of New Zealand, bowled Santner and Dane Cleaver in back-to-back deliveries before getting Bowes stumped to register numbers of 3-20.

Thursday’s opening game of the series was won by New Zealand by 19 runs. On Sunday, the same location will host the series finale.

more insights