Tector, Dockrell steer Ireland to historic Zimbabwe T20 series win

Tector, dockrell steer ireland to historic zimbabwe t20 series win0

Ireland defeated Zimbabwe by six wickets on Sunday, thanks to an unbeaten 104-run fifth-wicket stand between Harry Tector and George Dockrell. It was Ireland’s first Twenty20 series victory in Harare.

Tector scored 54 and Dockrell 49 as Ireland won the series 2-1 with eight balls to spare, giving Paul Stirling a perfect start as captain after succeeding Andy Balbirnie.

“The way George came in and batted relieved me of some of the pressure.” “He batted so well,” Tector stated after being selected series player of the year.

“Generally, the ball stayed low, but it was a good cricket wicket with plenty in it for bowlers and batters.”

“It’s always nice when you can chip in on both sides,” said Dockrell, the contest’s player of the match. “I had a little bowl in the first game and a little bat in the last two.”

After losing the toss, Zimbabwe produced 140-6 in 20 overs, while Ireland limped to 37-4 after seven overs at Harare Sports Club.

Tector, whose 48 helped Ireland win the second round on Saturday, and Dockrell then combined to swing the contest in the tourists’ direction.

In a 45-ball stand, Tector blasted two sixes and three fours, while Dockrell hit three sixes and three fours off 32 deliveries.

Brandon Mavuta was the finest Zimbabwe bowler, getting Curtis Campher’s wicket while surrendering 17 runs in three overs.

Ryan Burl, filling up for the suspended Sikandar Raza, led Zimbabwe with 36 points, including four fours.

Ireland, one of 20 qualifiers for the T20 World Cup in the West Indies and the United States next June, was led by Gareth Delany, Josh Little, and Craig Young, who each claimed two wickets.

Zimbabwe and Ireland begin a three-match one-day international series on Wednesday.

Brief evaluations

Zimbabwe 140-6 (R. Burl 36, B. Bennet 27, C. Madande 27; G. Delany 2-8, J. Little 2-21, C. Young 2-27) v Ireland 141-4 (H. Tector 54 not out, G. Dockrell 49 not out) in 18.4 overs

Ireland triumphed by six wickets.

more insights