Tanzid in but no Mahmudullah as Bangladesh announce Asia Cup squad

Tanzid in but no mahmudullah as bangladesh announce asia cup squad 0

The experienced Mahmudullah Riyad didn’t make the cut, but Tanzid Hasan Tamim got his first call-up to the national team when the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) named a 17-person group for the Asia Cup later this month.

After the BCB president named Shakib Al Hasan as the ODI captain yesterday, putting an end to days of rumors, the most important question about the team for the Asia Cup and the World Cup later this year was whether or not Mahmudullah would return to the national team.

But Mahmudullah, who was cut after the ODIs against England at home last March because he didn’t play well, couldn’t make it back into the team, even though many people thought that his knowledge could have helped the team in such a big tournament.

Mahmudullah, who is 37 and has already retired from Tests and T20Is, might be left wondering if he has already played his last game for Bangladesh. Tanzid Hasan Tamim, on the other hand, will hope that this is the start of a long and successful international career.

Tanzid Tamim, a left-handed opener, has been called into the team for the first time after he did well for Bangladesh A in the Emerging Asia Cup. He is one of the three openers in the team, along with Liton Das and Mohammad Naim. The Tigers are looking to replace Tamim Iqbal, a veteran opener who pulled out of the tournament due to injury concerns.

Shamim Hossain, who had never played in an ODI before, got a chance. Also, Mahedi Hasan is back in the team after not playing an ODI for Bangladesh since 2021. He is joined by spinner Nasum Ahmed. Nasum’s last ODI was in March, when Ireland played a series at home.

Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, and Hasan Mahmud are all still on the Tigers’ team. They are all fast bowlers.

Bangladesh squad: Shakib Al Hasan (C), Liton Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Sheikh Mahedi, Nasum Ahmed, Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Mohammad Naim Sheikh.

Taijul Islam, Saif Hassan, and Tanzim Sakib need you to wait.

more insights