Tamim, Mahmudullah return as BCB announce squad for NZ series

Tamim, mahmudullah return as bcb announce squad for nz series0

Tamim Iqbal, the opener, is scheduled to play his first two matches in the three-match ODI series against New Zealand at Mirpur on September 21. The left-hander was included in Bangladesh’s 15-man team for the series.

Along with Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, and the speed three of Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, and Shoriful Islam, usual captain Shakib Al Hasan has been rested. Liton Das will captain the squad for the first two games.

After withdrawing his intention to retire from international cricket in July, former Bangladesh captain Tamim recovered from his back ailment to make a cut in the squad ahead of the World Cup.

Following all of the discussions over his future, Mahmudullah Riyad’s name was added to the list as well.

The 37-year-old right-hander, who had already retired from Tests and T20Is, was dismissed from the Asia Cup team after the ODIs against England at home in March of last year due to poor performance. Many wondered whether this was his last game playing for Bangladesh.

Back on the side were Soumya Sarkar and Nurul Hasan Sohan as well. The three uncapped members of the team are leg-spinner Rishad Hossain, pacer Khaled Ahmed, and left-hander Zakir Hasan.

The decision to rest players was made with the World Cup in India in mind, which would be a lengthy competition where it will be crucial to maintain the players’ physical and mental well-being, according to National Selection Panel Chairman Minhajul Abedin. We get a chance to look at a few additional players ahead of this important event of the series against New Zealand.

Only Zakir, Khaled, and Rishad have not yet appeared in an ODI. The team has a mix of youth and experience. Before sustaining an untimely injury in March, Zakir came quite close to playing against Ireland. In addition to Rishad adding another element to our bowling assault, Khaled has had success in his list A career.”

Training for the Bangladeshi squad will start on September 19 at the SBNCS in Mirpur.

For the first and second ODI, SQUAD

Ahmedullah Riyad, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Sheikh Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Zakir Hasan, Rishad Hossain, and Khaled Ahmed were the other members of the squad that included Liton Das, the captain.

more insights