Surprises galore as Australia name preliminary WC squad

Surprises galore as australia name preliminary wc squad0

Australia has shocked the cricket world by naming a few unexpected players to their 18-man team for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup that will be held in India this year.

Tanveer Sangha, an uncapped leg-spinner, and Aaron Hardie, an untested all-rounder, are the surprising picks for Australia’s roster, with Test star Marnus Labuschagne being the most noteworthy absence from the team.

After being axed from the one-day side, Labuschagne’s hopes of playing in the World Cup have been dashed. On the other hand, uncapped leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha and Western Australian all-rounder Aaron Hardie have been thrust into the mix for the event that will be held in India later this year.

Today, Cricket Australia announced the selection of an expanded 18-man team, which will eventually be reduced to 15, with the first assignment being a five-match series in South Africa in the month of September.

It was recently discovered that Pat Cummins has a broken wrist, which will keep him out of action for the next six weeks. However, he will be joining the One-Day International team in South Africa in order to prepare for a comeback to playing in India, where Australia will play a three-game series in late September before to the World Cup.

Mitchell Starc is also recovering from a shoulder injury he sustained during the Ashes series, but he has been given the green light to play in the ODIs against South Africa.

The One-Day International (ODI) team does not yet have a vice-captain appointed by the selectors.
Pat Cummins (captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, and Adam Zampa make up Australia’s One-Day International team.

more insights