Seven uncapped players selected as WI name Test squad for Australia

Seven uncapped players selected as wi name test squad for australia0

The West Indies have announced a 15-player, inexperienced lineup for their two-match Test series against Australia starting next month, with Kraigg Brathwaite once again leading the team.

After a tie and a loss against India at home earlier this year, Brathwaite’s team is now in sixth place in the standings. This is the West Indies’ second series in the current ICC World Test Championship cycle.

With a young group going up against the current World Test Championship winners, the Caribbean side’s next assignment in Australia will present a challenging task in trying to climb the standings.

With fast bowler Alzarri Joseph serving as vice captain and seven uncapped players picked in the roster of 15, Brathwaite will captain a revamped West Indies team.

They consist of fast bowlers Akeem Jordan and Shamar Joseph, wicketkeeper Tevin Imlach, all-rounders Justin Greaves, Kavem Hodge, and Kevin Sinclair, and batter Zachary McCaskie. Regulars Jason Holder and Kyle Mayers will miss the series in order to concentrate on domestic white-ball possibilities.

Chief selector and former West Indies player Desmond Haynes is sad about the absence of some important players, but he thinks the team selected can play some excellent cricket in Australia.

“The absence of a few important players has hurt the team. But over the past year, we have had a very successful red-ball program that has uncovered great potential across the region,” Haynes stated.

“Now that they have successfully completed every test, the chosen players need to be given the chance to demonstrate their abilities in the test arena. Traveling to Australia is never easy, but we have faith in our group.”

The first Test will start in Adelaide on January 17 and the series will end in Brisbane on January 25. The sides are competing for the prestigious Frank Worrell Trophy.

The West Indies Test team consists of the following players: Gudakesh Motie, Kemar Roach, Kevin Sinclair, Tevin Imlach, Shamar Joseph, Zachary McCaskie, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Kirk McKenzie, Alick Athanaze, Kavem Hodge, Justin Greaves, Joshua DaSilva, Akeem Jordan, Gudakesh Motie, Kemar Roach, Kevin Sinclair, and Zachary McCaskie.


Adelaide, January 17–21 for the first test; Brisbane, January 25–29 for the second

more insights