How Messi won FIFA best player award 2023

How messi won fifa best player award 20230

In an unexpected change of events, Lionel Messi was named FIFA’s best men’s player for 2023 early Tuesday (Bangladesh time).

The current Ballon d’Or winner was a surprise victor, beating off Erling Haaland and Kylian Mbappe, despite having done nothing significant since Argentina won the FIFA World Cup in 2022, which was not included for this award.

Messi is named FIFA’s best male player in 2023.

FIFA’s criteria for the 2023 men’s awards were based on accomplishments between December 19, 2022 and August 20, 2023.

The 2022 awards were given out in conjunction with the 2022 FIFA World Cup, which concluded on December 18.

Nonetheless, Messi narrowly defeated Haaland in the poll.

Mbappe voted for Messi, while Messi chose Haaland.

There were four distinct votes, each of which contributed 25% to the total outcome.

The journalists unanimously supported Haaland. The Norwegian also received the most votes from national team coaches, while Messi received the most votes from national team captains.

FIFA allowed each coach and captain to vote for three players, granting five points to their first choice, three points to their second, and one point to their third.

Learn more

In Pictures: The Winners of FIFA’s ‘The Best’ Award

There was also a public poll, which Messi easily won.

Messi and Haaland were locked at 48 points after voting, while Mbappe got 35.

According to FIFA’s tie-breaking regulations, Messi was declared the winner because he garnered the most five-point scores from the men’s national team captains’ votes.

more insights