Holder, Pooran, Mayers decline West Indies central contracts

Holder, pooran, mayers decline west indies central contracts0

West Indies stalwarts Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, and Nicholas Pooran have declined central contract offers, but have reaffirmed their availability for all Twenty20 Internationals throughout the 2023-24 season, including the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, which the West Indies will co-host with the United States.

These three names were absent from the West Indies’ current central contract list for both the Men’s and Women’s sides for the upcoming season.

In the Men’s list, left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie, right-handed batter Keacy Carty, and left-handed batters Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Alick Athanaze have been awarded central contracts for the first time, while all-rounders Zaida James and Sheneta Grimmond are two new names.

“With a busy year of cricket ahead in all three formats, we have had several in-depth discussions with the two head coaches about the type of cricket they want to play.” “We know exactly where we want to go,” said West Indies Men’s team chief selection Desmond Haynes.

“The players who have been offered contracts are among those who we expect to feature, as we look to build towards challenging for the top spot when we host and compete in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 on home soil,” he said.

Meanwhile, Ann Browne-John, the chief selector of the West Indies Women’s squad, looked at long-term choices in players who can propel West Indies cricket forward.

“The selectors have identified a group of players who we believe have the potential to propel West Indies cricket forward.” We have prioritised the development of younger players, which we see as critical in the journey to international level.”

Alick Athanaze, Kraigg Brathwaite, Keacy Carty, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Joshua Da Silva, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, and Romario Shepherd are West Indies men.

Aaliyah Alleyne, Shamilia Connell, Afy Fletcher, Cherry-Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi, Jannillea Glasgow, Sheneta Grimmond, Chinelle Henry, Zaida James, Mandy Mangru, Hayley Matthews, Karishma Ramharack, Stafanie Taylor, and Rashada Williams are West Indian women.

more insights