Hazlewood makes the cut as Australia confirm WTC final squad

Hazlewood makes the cut as australia confirm wtc final squad0

Despite recent injury worries, Josh Hazlewood was included in Australia’s final 15-man team that would compete in the World Test Championship final the following week, as confirmed by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The fast bowler’s season in the Indian Premier League (IPL) was cut short earlier this month when he complained of “minor side soreness.” However, Cricket Australia said that he was well enough to play in the winner-take-all test that will take place at The Oval in London beginning on June 7.

Mitch Marsh, an all-rounder, and Matthew Renshaw, a batter, who were both included in the first party, have been left out of the squad. The 32-year-old joins Pat Cummins, Scott Boland, and Mitchell Starc as the specialist fast bowlers in the squad. Mitchell Starc is the captain of the team.

After wicket-keeper batsman KL Rahul was forced to withdraw due to an injury to his right leg, India has confirmed the 15 players they named three weeks ago. Rahul was replaced by Ishan Kishan, who has no international caps to his name.

After a successful season in the Indian Premier League, uncapped opener Yashasvi Jaiswal was one of three players nominated to India’s standby squad, along with Mukesh Kumar and Suryakumar Yadav.

Only with the permission of the ICC technical committee will players on standby be allowed to take the place of injured players already in the team.

Following the conclusion of the final, in which both teams will be competing for their first championship, Australia will immediately begin their Ashes series against England, with the first test scheduled to take place at Edgbaston on June 16.


Pat Cummins is the captain of the Australian team, which consists of the following players: Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, and David Warner.

India – Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan

more insights