Bayern eliminated from German Cup by third-division Saarbruecken

Bayern eliminated from german cup by third-division saarbruecken0

It’s the third time in four years that Bayern Munich has lost in the second round of the German Cup. They lost 2-1 to third-tier Saarbruecken on Wednesday, with Marcel Gaus scoring the game-winning goal in the last minute.

At 1-1, it looked like extra time would be needed to decide the winner. In the sixth minute of penalty time, Gaus scored to give his team a famous win.

At the end of the game, Thomas Mueller told ARD, “When a top team like Bayern comes to Saarbruecken and loses, then we did something wrong.”

Back in 2013, Holstein Kiel beat Bayern on penalties at the same stage. In 2021, Borussia Moenchengladbach beat Bayern 5-0 in the second round.

For the record 20th time, they lost to Freiburg at home in the quarterfinals last year.

The answer could be 100 different ones, or it could be none at all. Some people will say we should have won even though we were hurt, said Thomas Tuchel, the coach of Bayern.

Ruediger Ziehl, the home team’s “incredibly proud” coach, said that he had told his players that they did not have to go to training on Thursday.

“If we don’t celebrate today, then we can never celebrate.”

Bayern’s central defender Matthijs de Ligt got hurt early in the game and could miss the trip to Bundesliga rivals Borussia Dortmund on Saturday. This means that Bayern only has one healthy centre back.

Mueller, a six-time Cup winner, seemed to have Bayern on track for an easy win against a team that wasn’t as well-liked, but De Ligt hurt his knee in a fight soon after and quickly told the bench what was wrong.

Because of the injury, Joshua Kimmich had to play defence, which put Bayern behind against a strong Saarbruecken team.

The home team scored next, with Patrick Sontheimer tapping in a pass from Lukas Boeder after Saarbruecken forced Frans Kraetzig to make a mistake in the middle.

King Stanley Coman, Jamal Musiala, and Serge Gnabry were brought on by Tuchel as reinforcements, but Harry Kane, the star scorer, stayed on the bench for Saturday’s important game.

The England captain was warming up before what looked like extra time. That’s when senior defender Gaus made a play that will go down in Saarbruecken history.

The last 16 teams are Dortmund and Leverkusen.
Early on Wednesday, Marco Reus scored the only goal that gave Borussia Dortmund a 1-0 win at home over Hoffenheim.

Teenagers and Before Bayern came to town, coach Edin Terzic changed things up a bit and gave Jamie Bynoe-Gittens and Youssoufa Moukoko their first starts. But it was senior forward Reus who gave Dortmund the lead late in the first half.

Bynoe-Gittens sent a ball down the left side of the pitch and got ready to shoot when he found Reus. Reus scored his 165th goal for the club with a one-touch finish, giving Dortmund a well-deserved lead at halftime.

The home team missed a few chances, but Hoffenheim wasn’t really a threat. In extra time, former Liverpool defender Ozan Kabak was sent off, leaving them with 10 players.

During his 13-year stint at Dortmund, Sebastian Kehl won the German Cup once. He said, “I thought we did very, very well against a team that has won all of their away games.”

Leading team in the Bundesliga, Bayer Leverkusen, scored three goals in the last five minutes to beat third-tier Sandhausen 5-2.

Exequiel Palacios, an Argentinian who won the World Cup, gave Leverkusen the early lead from the penalty spot after Amine Adli was brought down in the box.

Before Jonathan Tah scored for the guests, Christoph Ehlich and Yassin Ben Balla scored to tie the game twice early in the second half.

In the 85th minute, Adam Hlozek scored for Leverkusen to give them the lead. Adli then scored two goals of his own to finish off a nail-biting win.

In other news, Freiburg lost 3-1 at home to Paderborn of the second division. This means that the 2022 finalists are out early, along with holders RB Leipzig, Champions League entrants Union Berlin, and five-time winners Schalke.

Winners five times Viktoria Cologne lost to Eintracht Frankfurt in the third division, but Hertha Berlin beat Mainz, Magdeburg beat Holstein Kiel on penalties, and Nuremberg beat Hansa Rostock in extra time to win the title for the fourth time.

more insights