Australia lock in WC squad

Australia lock in wc squad0

With less than a month till the start of this year’s tournament in India, Australia cut its initial team of 18 players for the 50-over showcase to 15 yesterday.

All-rounder Aaron Hardie, speedster Nathan Ellis, and teenage spinner Tanveer Sangha were the unfortunate three players who did not make the final cut; instead, the selectors chose experience over talent for the bulk of their final 15. Marnus Labuschagne, a test star, is also unable to go.

Once again, the team will be led by fast bowler Pat Cummins, who will be assisted with the new ball by seasoned quicks Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc. Sean Abbott will be the backup pacer, chosen over Ellis, for the last position in the squad. Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar provide the spinning options.

There weren’t many surprises among the batsmen; all-rounders Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, and Cameron Green added some depth to a strong batting lineup, while David Warner, Steve Smith, and Travis Head were probably going to be employed in the top order.

“Before the final roster is announced, eight one-day matches between South Africa and India need to be completed. Two World Cup practice matches will take place after them, providing plenty of chance to continue preparing for the competition, according to Australia’s selector George Bailey.

Australia is in South Africa right now, getting ready for a five-match ODI series against the Proteas. At the end of this month, they will go to the subcontinent for a three-match ODI series against India.

Team Australia for the World Cup: Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Pat Cummins (captain), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Mitch Marsh, and Travis Head.

more insights